February District Inservice

 

Current Inservice Website: http://www.nsbsd.org/Page/5954

 

Last Inservice (October 21) Website: http://www.nsbsd.org/Page/4209

 

*** This document contains hyperlinked text. If you do not have a digital copy, please see www.nsbsd.org/domain/769

 

Presentations/Training Resources:

-        Opening words (prepared by CO and read at each site at the beginning of the day).

-        NGSS presentation RECCOMENDED for elementary teachers (Marilyn will be available in person or via VTC. We will contact sites individually to schedule a time).

-        NGSS presentation RECCOMENDED for middle and high school science teachers.

-        Implementation feedback presentation RECCOMENDED for all teachers implementing units.

-        Implementation section of the website http://www.nsbsd.org/Page/5984

-        Please refer teachers to the NSBSD website for information about library books that would mesh well with their units. http://www.nsbsd.org/Page/84 

o   Each library has an “Alaska Section, as well as classroom sets to support *R Units.

o   Please contact Lisa Sobieniak (lisa.sobieniak@nsbsd.org) with any questions, or for further help.

-        Current Expectations (Attached), also available on the Project Umiaq webpage.

 

 

Live Q and A link/ Digital Parking Lot

 

CO staff will monitor and address questions as they appear. If you don’t know who to ask about a particular issue, this is a good place to start.

 

*Please note that you must be logged in to Google to submit a question.


 

Contact List for Unit help

 

Iñupiaq Ed Dept.

Jana.Harcharek@nsbsd.org

Fannie.Akpik@nsbsd.org

Patricia@partnowconsulting.com

 

Library

Lisa.Sobieniak@nsbsd.org

 

Rubicon Atlas

Mark.Nance@nsbsd.org

Brittnay.Bailey@nsbsd.org

 

Implementation/ General Questions

Linda.Saito@nsbsd.org

Pamella.Simpson@nsbsd.org

Caitlin.Montague@nsbsd.org

 


 

2016-17 Expectations

 

New Teachers & Counselors

·       Teach Iñupiaq Ed developed Culture-Based Units (CBUs) and Units from the Q1 and Q3 Implementation Maps, if available for content area and grade level.

·       Begin Unit Development, Stages 1 and 2 required, Stage 3 optional.

 

Returning Teachers & Counselors

·       Teach Iñupiaq Ed CBUs and Units from the Q1 and Q3 Implementation Maps, if available for content area and grade level.

Choose ONE of the following:

·       Use feedback to make changes and enhancements to the previous year’s unit, bringing the unit to *R. Implement the unit.

·       Working alone or in small groups, develop a complete unit, and implement a significant portion of the unit.

·       Use feedback to make changes and enhancements to an orphan *O unit, bringing the unit to *R. Implement a significant portion of the unit.

 

Special Education Teachers

·       Partner with a regular ed teacher in a class where you support students and co-teach Iñupiaq Ed CBUs and Units from the Q1 and Q3 Implementation Maps.

·       Work with teachers developing a new unit, or choose an existing unit and create modifications to make the unit accessible for students receiving SPED services.

Last Modified on February 5, 2017
CLOSE